Couture Commits to Gustavus

Kegan Couture has verbally committed to play Division III hockey at Gustavus Adolphus College, in St. Peter, Minnesota.

Couture, a native of Pequot Lakes, spent his high school years playing for the Northern Lakes Lightning. In his three years of Varsity hockey, he managed to tally 89 career points including 44 points in his senior season, which led the team. Couture did not want this hockey career to end just yet. He had a dream about playing college hockey one day. After high school, he decided to keep his dream alive by playing junior hockey. A process many kids have to take if they want to play at the collegiate level.

The next three years, Couture played junior hockey in Bozeman, Montana for the Bozeman Icedogs in the Tier 3 North American Hockey League (NA3HL). Couture’s play improved year after year, along with his team’s record. He played in 139 games for the Icedogs and racked up a remarkable 181 points over the three year time period. Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 3.45.28 PMThis past season, Couture led the team in scoring with 76 points and had the honor of serving as the team’s captain—“left side heavy,” as his boys from back home would call it. Couture’s year was capped off by bringing Bozeman to their first playoff appearance in 10 years. When I asked Couture about what has been his biggest takeaway from his years in Bozeman he said, “The bonds I have created with so many of my teammates, billets, and coaches. They are friendships that will last a lifetime.” With his every productive final year in juniors, Couture’s dream of playing college hockey started to become reality.

As Couture begins his summer training, he will be doing it knowing that he will be wearing black and gold for Gustavus next fall. Couture said, “I picked Gustavus because I felt it would be the best fit for me to continue my education and my hockey career. I really enjoyed talking to the coaching staff and visiting the facilities during my visit.” When I asked him about playing for the Golden Gusties, he continued by saying, “I’m extremely grateful for the opportunity and can not wait to start the next chapter in my life.” The Gusties play in the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) with schools such as St. John’s University, St. Thomas University, and Hamline University. Last year, they finished with a record of 6-14-5.gac-icon

Congrats to a hometown kid, and one of my best friends on your commitment. We all wish you the best of luck and GO GUSTIES!!

About Gaven Bickford

I call my writings Bicks Blog. I'm a college student, who loves hockey. I write because I love to do it, not because I have to. I am willing to talk hockey 24/7. Minnesota is my home. Follow Me on Twitter @GavenBicks18
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

